< Back to news

Tuesday / 24 January / 2017

Gorkana Group sponsors the charity’s special award at the National Press Awards

The Journalists’ Charity exists to support journalists – and has been doing that for the last 150 years plus. This year, the charity is delighted to recognise the efforts of someone who shares its ethos of supporting journalists and journalism. The winner of this year’s Journalists’ Charity Award is not a journalist but never stops fighting for good journalism, whether its working behind the scenes shaping regulation, robustly fighting one of the biggest threats we face  today – Section 40 – or supporting various industry organisations including the Printing Charity and the Journalists’ Charity.

The Charity has had a mammoth task in the past few years in ensuring it is equipped to continue helping as many journalists in need – and their dependants – across the UK and in Ireland. This help takes many forms including financial assistance, medical and residential care. The charity is a helping hand when it is needed most. The winner of this year’s Journalists’ Charity Award has been steadfast in his support for the charity and its activities and has advised the charity with great wisdom as it prepares to meet future challenges. He cajoled leading newspaper groups to play their part in the charity’s strategic review process and made a real difference to our fund raising hosting events in the House of Lords and as President of The Press Ball, the proceeds of which go to the Journalists’ Charity.

Journalists’ Charity Award goes to Guy Black, Executive Director, Telegraph Media Group

On accepting the award Guy said: “The Journalists’ Charity is so special to me. When I first came into the industry 20 years ago I was told by the great and the good and the powerful that we disagree on many things but the one thing we all agree on is the importance of the Journalists’ Charity.  It is needed now more than ever before”.


Huw Edwards
David Livingstone
Alastair Campbell
Nick Robinson
Julie Etchingham
Anna Botting