< Back to news

Gilbert John of BBC Cymru Wales, winner of last year’s Outstanding Achievement Award.

Wednesday / 9 October / 2019

Sixth Wales Media Awards open for entries

The Journalists’ Charity Wales Media Awards 2020 formally open for entries today (Wednesday 9 October), with organisers looking to encourage submissions from a wide range of media including video journalism and audio podcasts.

In all categories, judges will particularly be looking for evidence of how the work has brought about change in society, perhaps through exposés, campaigns or investigative journalism.
Now into their sixth year, the free-to-enter Awards celebrate and promote great journalism in Wales – work produced in Wales, for an audience in Wales, by journalists, photographers and camera operators.

The Awards, supported by Camelot as headline sponsor for the second year, will be presented in Cardiff on 20 March 2020 at a ceremony hosted by BBC Cymru Wales presenter Lucy Owen and ITV Cymru Wales’ Jonathan Hill.

They are organised on behalf of the Journalists’ Charity by Spencer David. Other sponsors are Aston Martin, Cardiff University School of Journalism, Media and Culture, Grayling, ITV Cymru Wales, National Union of Journalists, S4C Clic, University of South Wales, Welsh Government and Western Power Distribution. Further support has come from Celf Creative, Cleartech Live, Natasha Hirst Photography, and Mercure Holland House Hotel, Cardiff.

The Awards can be entered via from 9 October. The closing date for entries is 5pm on Monday 4 November and shortlists will be announced in February 2020.

The Wales Media Awards are organised as a fundraiser for the Journalists’ Charity in Wales which helps journalists and their dependants with advice, grants and other forms of financial assistance.


David Livingstone
Nick Robinson
Huw Edwards
Julie Etchingham
Richard Littlejohn
Anna Botting