< Back to news

Saturday / 1 April / 2017

Journalists’ Charity Wales Media Awards 2017 – over £7000 raised

Veteran Welsh broadcaster Vincent Kane has been awarded the Outstanding
Contribution Award at the Wales Media Awards at a glittering ceremony which
saw ITV Cymru Wales reporter Rob Osbourne take the Journalist of the Year

Vincent Kane, the journalist and presenter whose face and voice have been a
familiar part of Welsh television and radio for some five decades, was
presented with the trophy by one of his regular interviewees over the years
– Lord Dafydd Elis-Thomas.

Rob Osborne – who also took the Scoop of the Year Award – was singled out by
judges for the Journalist of the Year Award who praised his “outstanding”
work, in particular his report based on exclusive access in her final months
to motor neurone disease sufferer Jackie Baker, who wanted to end her life
in the Swiss clinic Dignitas.

It was “an incredibly moving and well-handled report”, they said. “It says a
lot that the family trusted Rob’s integrity to produce such sensitive work.
The piece also tackled the ethical and legal issues, without losing sight of
Jackie, the real person.”

A team of more than 30 independent judges worked their way through almost
200 entries in 19 categories from individual print, online, radio and
television journalists and from newspapers, web outlets and broadcasters to
make their selection.

The evening, hosted by broadcaster Dermot Murnaghan, was the major Welsh
fundraiser for the Journalists’ Charity, which supports working and retired
journalists in urgent need with advice, grants and other forms of financial

The Wales Media Awards are organised with the generous support of a range of
sponsors and partners including lead sponsor Comtek, a North Wales based
company which provides repairs, spares and support to the telecoms,
datacoms, and network service industry.

Category sponsors are Welsh Government (Business Journalist), Celf Design
(Camera Operator),
Cardiff Metropolitan University (Feature Writer), Western Power Distribution
(Daily/Sunday Newspaper, Weekly Newspaper), Freshwater (Political
Journalist), Camelot (Radio News & Current Affairs and TV News & Current
Affairs), Cleartech Live (Sports Journalist), NUJ (Student Journalist),
Aston Martin (Young Journalist).

The Awards are organised by sponsors Spencer David, and further support has
come from Gemini Digital Colour, Mercure Holland House Hotel, Cardiff, Signs
Express, Specialist Models, and the University of South Wales.

The full list of winners is:

News Photographer
Sponsored by Specialist Models
Gareth Everett, Huw Evans Picture Agency

Camera Operator
Sponsored by Celf Creative
Dai Baker, ITN

Radio News & Current Affairs
Sponsored by Camelot
Sunday Supplement, BBC Cymru Wales

TV News & Current Affairs
Sponsored by Camelot
Living with Dementia : Chris’ Story, BBC Cymru Wales

Independent Community News Service
Sponsored by Mercure and M Gallery Hotels UK
Caerphilly Observer

News Website
Sponsored by Spencer David
Wales Online

Weekly Newspaper
Sponsored by Western Power Distribution
Western Telegraph

Daily & Sunday Newspaper
Sponsored by Western Power Distribution
Daily Post

Student Journalist
Sponsored by NUJ
Lonai-Ronahi-Hasan, University of South Wales

Young Journalist
Sponsored by Aston Martin
Owen Evans, Flintshire Leader

Sports Journalist
Sponsored by Cleartech Live
Chris Wathan, Media Wales

Feature Writer
Sponsored by Cardiff Metropolitan University
Steve Duffy, BBC Wales News Website

Business Journalist
Sponsored by Welsh Government
Mark Blayney Stuart, Wales Business Insider

Political Journalist
Sponsored by Freshwater
Nick Servini, BBC Cymru Wales

Online News Reporter
Sponsored by Comtek Sorrento Network
Sarah Louise Hodgson, Daily Post

Radio News Reporter
Sponsored by Comtek Sorrento Network
Steffan Messenger, BBC Cymru Wales

TV News Reporter
Sponsored by Comtek Sorrento Network
Andy Davies, ITN/Channel 4

Print News Reporter
Sponsored by Comtek Sorrento Network
Gemma Parry, South Wales Evening Post

Sponsored by The Journalists’ Charity
Rob Osborne, ITV Cymru Wales

Journalist of the Year 2017
Rob Osbourne, ITV Cymru Wales

Outstanding Contribution
Vincent Kane


Alastair Campbell
Huw Edwards
Richard Littlejohn
Faisal Islam
Nick Robinson
Anna Botting