< Back to news

Thursday / 4 October / 2018

Wales Media Awards 2019 to celebrate community, columnists and campaigns

The Journalists’ Charity Wales Media Awards 2019 formally open for entries today (Wednesday 3 October), with a range of new and refreshed categories and Camelot as the new headline sponsor.

The free-to-enter Awards celebrate and promote great journalism in Wales – work produced in Wales, for an audience in Wales, by journalists, photographers and camera operators.

The Awards, which will be presented in Cardiff on 22 March 2018 at a ceremony hosted by BBC Cymru Wales presenter Lucy Owen and ITV Cymru Wales’ Jonathan Hill, this year feature four major new categories:

  • Community Journalism of the Year, which acknowledges reporting of local community matters by Local Democracy Reporters and independent community enterprises
  • Vlog / Blog of the Year for topical, news-based vlogs or blogs created and managed by individuals, a group of individuals, charities or companies
  • Columnist of the Year which celebrates journalistic writing skills in news-related or general opinion columns
  • Campaign of the Year which aims to showcase the very best of journalistic skills and seeks entries from the arenas of news, features, documentaries, campaigns and investigative journalism

The Awards are organised on behalf of the Journalists’ Charity by Spencer David with the support of first-time headline sponsor Camelot. Other sponsors are Aston Martin, National Union of Journalists, Welsh Government and Western Power Distribution.

Further support has come from Celf Creative, Cleartech Live, Natasha Hirst Photography, Specialist Models and Mercure Holland House Hotel, Cardiff.

The Awards can now be entered via, and the closing date is Monday 5 November. Shortlists for each category will be announced in February 2019.

The Wales Media Awards are organised as a fundraiser for the Journalists’ Charity in Wales which helps journalists and their dependants with advice, grants and other forms of financial assistance.



David Livingstone
Nick Robinson
Richard Littlejohn
Julie Etchingham
Anna Botting
Alastair Campbell